Menu

The Writer’s Art

Human Science


by
James J. Kilpatrick

Book Details

Format: EPUB

Page count: 262 pages

File size: 2 MB

Protection: DRM

Language: English

“Writing comes in grades of quality in the fashion of beer and baseball games,” says James J. Kilpatrick, “good, better, and best.”  With the experience of a lifetime of writing, he tells us, he wants to make a few judgment calls. And Jack Kilpatrick, master of the art, is as good as his word. In the tradition of Theodore Bernstein, Edwin Newman, and William Safire, James J. Kilpatrick gives us a finely crafted, witty guide to writing well. Written for laymen and professionals alike, The Writer’s Art highlights techniques and examples of good writing. A section of the book called “My Crotchets and Your Crotchets” comprises more than 200 personal judgment calls, often controversial, often funny, on word usage.

“Writing comes in grades of quality in the fashion of beer and baseball games,” says James J. Kilpatrick, “good, better, and best.”  With the experience of a lifetime of writing, he tells us, he wants to make a few judgment calls. And Jack Kilpatrick, master of the art, is as good as his word. In the tradition of Theodore Bernstein, Edwin Newman, and William Safire, James J. Kilpatrick gives us a finely crafted, witty guide to writing well. Written for laymen and… (more)

“Writing comes in grades of quality in the fashion of beer and baseball games,” says James J. Kilpatrick, “good, better, and best.”  With the experience of a lifetime of writing, he tells us, he wants to make a few judgment calls. And Jack Kilpatrick, master of the art, is as good as his word. In the tradition of Theodore Bernstein, Edwin Newman, and William Safire, James J. Kilpatrick gives us a finely crafted, witty guide to writing well. Written for laymen and professionals alike, The Writer’s Art highlights techniques and examples of good writing. A section of the book called “My Crotchets and Your Crotchets” comprises more than 200 personal judgment calls, often controversial, often funny, on word usage.

(less)